Kids & Families

Help your young child be a reading star and sign up for the 1,000 Books Before Kindergarten reading program.  It's never too early to start reading!  This free program runs year round, so you can read at your own pace.  Children receive a prize for each 100 books you share together!  Sign up for the program at the Youth Services desk.

Grab your bingo card from the Library today and start completing bingo’s across, down or diagonally for prizes– up to five bingo’s worth!  If the child blacks out the board and completes every bingo activity on the sheet, they will earn a free book!  Please initial the activities the child has completed.  The program runs from January 2nd– May 31st, 2018.

 

Friday, January 19, 2018 - 9:00am to 5:00pm

Come make some fun snowflake crafts with us! All supplies provided. Located in the youth department.

Saturday, January 20, 2018 - 11:00am to 1:00pm

Stop in for a visit with some animal ambassadors! The Madison Area Herpetological Society Fox Valley Chapter will be at the Library with reptiles and amphibians for you to learn about and maybe even pet!

There will also be face painting from 11a-1p courtesy of Girl Scout Troop 2008. Participants of face painting are encouraged to bring in a donation for our Little Free Pantry as part of the Scouts' service project for the Library.

Monday, January 22, 2018 - 9:00am to 8:00pm

Come and make some fun penguin paper crafts! All supplies provided. Crafts located in the youth department.

There will be face painting between 9:30a-11:30a courtesy of Girl Scout Troop 2008. Participants of face painting are encouraged to bring in a donation for our Little Free Pantry as part of the Scouts' service project for the Library.

Tuesday, January 23, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Tuesday, January 30, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Tuesday, March 6, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Tuesday, March 13, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Tuesday, March 20, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Tuesday, March 27, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Tuesday, April 10, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Tuesday, April 17, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Tuesday, April 24, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am

A special lapsit program for babies not yet walking.  Siblings welcome. Meets in Conference ABC.

Tuesday, January 23, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, January 30, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, March 6, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, March 13, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, March 20, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, March 27, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, April 10, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, April 17, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, April 24, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm

Join us for a Nature Journaling class packed with writing, science and art projects! This class is for the whole family, however at least one child needs to be school-aged to participate. Some of our fall topics this year include ants and bees all the way to trees! Since this class builds upon itself with multi-week long projects, participants that miss more than three classes in the first semester will be dropped from the class and a family on the wait list will be invited in. Please be aware that this class meets at the Library and at 1,000 Islands Environmental Center every other week. Please bring a sketchbook to class for each child participating.

Registration for this class has closed as the maximum number of participants has been reached. 

Class Schedule:

Library Days: 1/24, 2/6, 2/20, 3/6, 3/20, 4/3 & 4/17

1,000 Island Days: 1/30, 2/13, 2/27, 3/13, 3/27 4/10 & 4/24

 

 

Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Wednesday, February 28, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Wednesday, March 7, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Wednesday, March 28, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Wednesday, April 18, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Wednesday, April 25, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am

A storytime just for one year olds with play!  Siblings welcome. Meets in Conference ABC.

Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Wednesday, February 28, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Wednesday, March 7, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Wednesday, March 28, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Wednesday, April 18, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Wednesday, April 25, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:15am

A storytime just for two year olds with play! Siblings welcome. Meets in Conference ABC.

Thursday, January 25, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Thursday, February 1, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Thursday, March 29, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Thursday, April 5, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Thursday, April 26, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:15am

A storytime for three to five year olds with a craft activity after! Siblings welcome.

Thursday, January 25, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, April 26, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, May 24, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, June 28, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, July 26, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, August 23, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, September 27, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, October 25, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, November 29, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, December 27, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Join us the fourth Thursday of each month for some adventure on the Library’s own Minecraft server! Work together or on your own creations. For 3rd grade and up.  Registration required. Please note that the library has an expectation that patrons conduct themselves in a civil manner while playing in the game world.  Parents/Guardians are required to stay in the room for the duration of the program.  Meets in Tween/Teen Computer Lab.

To register, stop by the service desk or call 766-6340 (press for service desk).

Registration Dates: 

  • January registration date: 1/11
  • February registration date: 2/8
  • March registration date:3/8
  • April registraiton date: 4/12
  • May registration date: 5/10
Friday, January 26, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Friday, February 2, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Friday, February 9, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Friday, February 23, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Friday, March 2, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Friday, March 9, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Friday, March 16, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Friday, March 23, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Friday, March 30, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Friday, April 6, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Friday, April 13, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Friday, April 20, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Friday, April 27, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm

This semester will focus comparing and contrasting the Ancient Viking and Egyptian cultures and societies. Class will include a 20 minute lecture followed by a fun craft or activity. This class is intended for school-age children, but siblings are welcome. Participants that miss more than three classes in the first semester will be dropped from the class and a family on the wait list will be invited in as our curriculumn builds upon itself. This class meets for the entire year, the first semester running 9/12-12/19 with a short winter break, class resuming again in January, dates to be released.  Registration is required; class is full and registration has ceased for this class.

Saturday, January 27, 2018 - 9:00am to 1:00pm

Join us for drop-in eagle crafts all day while you drop in for our other Eagles Along the Fox River events! Crafts are located in the youth area. 

There will be face painting from 9:30a-11:30a courtesy of Girl Scout Troop 2008. Participants of face painting are encouraged to bring in a donation for our Little Free Pantry as part of the Scouts' service project for the Library.

Saturday, January 27, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:00am

Join us for a short Eagle Storytime in honor of Eagle Days Along the Fox. A repeat of this storytime will occur at 10:30a. The program will be held in Conference ABC.

Saturday, January 27, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am

Join us for a short Eagle Storytime in honor of Eagle Days Along the Fox. This is a repeat of the 9:30a storytime. The program will be held in Conference ABC.

Thursday, January 4, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, February 1, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, April 5, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, May 3, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, June 7, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, July 5, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, November 1, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, December 6, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Join us for an hour of coding activities.  Activities may range from coding board games, robotics, legos and Ipads with Osmos.  For grades three and up. Meets in the Conference Room.   

Friday, February 2, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Hike the trails with the just the light of the moon, stars and naturalist to guide you.  If there is ample snow on the ground we will lend out snowshoes to turn it into a snowshoe hike (first come first served).  Hot chocolate will be provided after the hike. Program held at 1,000 Islands Environmental Center.

Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Drop in to make fun valentines for family, friends or classmates! The Library is looking for donations of popular character Valentines for children to use this evening as well.

Pages