Teens

On August 31st, the Kaukauna Public Library was notified that it received requested grant funds from Best Buy for the Hour of Code program. According to Best Buy Community Relations, “Technology know-how is crucial for young people preparing to enter the job market for the first time. We open the door to opportunity with technology training and tools that transform underserved teens from consumers to creators – a new generation of engineers, entrepreneurs, teachers, designers and dreamers.”

The Library requested grant funds for the purchase of additional iPads and tablets for the new Hour of Code program the Library is offering to students. The Hour of Code program is a perfect fit for the Best Buy Community Grants Program, which “ignites teen potential through technology” because the program focuses on learning new technology including coding, robotics, animation, and game design. 

Hour of Code runs at the Library during the school year on the first Thursday of the month, running 10/5, 11/2 & 12/7 this year from 6:30-7:30p. Participants in grades three and up can expect to work on different projects during the program including coding with Osmos, robotics including Ozobots, learning animation and app building and more! Best Buy is “committed to giving underserved youth hands-on access to the tech education and tools they need to be successful in school and in their future careers.” As such, this new partnership gives the Library funding necessary to continue to have access to the technology required to help teach patrons of all ages about the importance of technological literacy.

Monday, November 20, 2017 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, November 21, 2017 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Wednesday, November 22, 2017 - 9:00am to 8:00pm

Support the Friends of the Kaukauna Public Library by shopping our book sale.  Items range between 25 cents and $1.00 and benefit the Friends. Donations greatly appreciated.

Wednesday, November 22, 2017 - 9:00am to 12:00pm

Coming to the new Fox Communities Exhibition Center opening in 2017, We Are Here is a installation by artist Rob Neilson intended to showcase the faces of the Fox Cities. Over the coming months, they will be traveling throughout the Fox Cities, coming to local events to photograph the faces of our communities. We are looking for people willing to showcase the diversity of the community. Kaukauna residents will have the opportunity to participate in the project on November 22nd between 9a-12p at the Library. For more information on the project, please visit: https://www.weareherefoxcities.com/

Rob Neilson is the Frederick R. Layton Distinguished Professor of Art and Associate Professor at Lawrence University in Appleton, Wisconsin. Born and raised in Detroit, he received a BFA in Fine Arts from the College for Creative Studies. A professional artist since earning his MFA in sculpture from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Rob has exhibited his sculpture, installations, and drawings at galleries, museums, and alternative spaces nationally and internationally.​

Neilson has created public art commissions throughout the United States, including projects in California, Wisconsin, Nebraska, Illinois, Michigan, Virginia, and North Carolina. In 2006 Rob completed a 6-month residency at the Kohler Arts/Industry program where he fabricated 54 iron castings for a public art project commissioned by the Los Angeles Metro Transit Authority.​

Equal parts artist and educator, Rob has been a visiting artist at the University of Wisconsin–Madison, Virginia Tech University and Longwood University (Virginia), Dickinson College (Pennsylvania), Millikin University (Illinois) and California State University.

Saturday, November 25, 2017 - 9:00am to 1:00pm

Support the Friends of the Kaukauna Public Library by shopping our book sale. Fill a bag for just $1 today! Donations greatly appreciated.

Thursdays at 3:30pm

Join us each Thursday after school for a craft, gaming, or activity! Program held in the Youth Department or Conference Room.

 November 16 - Nintendo Switch Play
November 30 - Craft/Activity
December 7 - Nintendo Switch Play
December 14 -  Craft/Activity
December 21 - Nintendo Switch Play
Upcoming
Thursday, November 30, 2017 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, December 7, 2017 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, December 2, 2017 - 1:30pm to 4:30pm

Give the Library a gift! The Library will have displays of books for you to purchase in honor/memory of loved ones to go in our Library collections for our community to check out. We will have a wide range of items (prices range from $5.99-$35) which will be nameplated in front of you to go into the collection. Enjoy refreshments and a looping presentation in the Conference Room during your visit. All items purchased for the Library that day are subject to regular collection management policy. Event courtesy of The Friends of the Kaukauna Public Library.  This event is open to anyone that loves to support their local Library!

Thursday, September 7, 2017 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, October 5, 2017 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, November 2, 2017 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, December 7, 2017 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Join us for an hour of coding activities.  Activities may range from coding board games, robotics, legos and Ipads with Osmos.  For grades three and up. Meets in the Conference Room.   

 

Tuesday, December 12, 2017 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Come make some fabulous upcycled holiday crafts and gifts using recycled materials. Event being held at 1,000 Islands Environmental Center.* 

Second Thursday of the month at 6:30p

Come "hack" apart AV equipment, electronics, and appliances to see what's inside! For 4th grade and up. Meets in the Conference Room.

Upcoming
Thursday, December 14, 2017 - 6:30pm to 7:15pm
Wednesday, December 27, 2017 - 3:30pm to 4:15pm

Join the Naturalist from 1,000 Islands to learn about our wintering bald eagles and head outside to watch for them along the river as the sun sets. A portion of this event will take place outdoors, so please dress appropriate for cold weather eagle viewing.

Thursday, December 28, 2017 - 10:00am to 8:00pm

Schedule of events:
1030-12 Star Wars: Clone Wars 

1-3:15 Star Wars: The Force Awakens

4-5 Star Wars Team Trivia

5-6 Wisconsin Garrison 501st will be on site.

6-8 John Jackson Miller will be doing a talk about his work with Star Wars followed by a book signing. 

There will be "drop in" crafts and activities to do all day as part of Padawan Training Acadamy.
 

Fourth Thursday of the Month at 4:00pm

Join us the fourth Thursday of each month for some adventure on the Library’s own Minecraft server! Work together or on your own creations. For 3rd grade and up.  Registration required. Please note that the library has an expectation that patrons conduct themselves in a civil manner while playing in the game world.  Parents/Guardians are required to stay in the room for the duration of the program.  Meets in Tween/Teen Computer Lab.

Registration Dates:

  • September date registration begins Sept 14
  • October date registration begins Oct 12
  • November date registration begins Nov 2
  • December date registration begins Dec 14
Upcoming
Thursday, December 28, 2017 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, January 4, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, February 1, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, April 5, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, May 3, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, June 7, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, July 5, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, November 1, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, December 6, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, January 11, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, May 10, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, July 12, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, August 9, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, November 8, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, December 13, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Tuesday, January 16, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, January 30, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, March 6, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, March 13, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, March 20, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, March 27, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, April 17, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, April 24, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, May 1, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, May 8, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, May 15, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, May 22, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, May 29, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, January 16, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

The past few winters have brought many snowy owls into the state.  Learn more about these magnificent birds, including why they are here and where you can safely view them. This program is held at 1,000 Islands Environmental Center.

Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, May 17, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, June 21, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, July 19, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, August 16, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, September 20, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, October 18, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, November 15, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, December 20, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, January 25, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, April 26, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, May 24, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, June 28, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, July 26, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, August 23, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, September 27, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, October 25, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, November 29, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, December 27, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Pages