Teens

Grab your bingo card from the Library today and start completing bingo’s across, down or diagonally for prizes– up to five bingo’s worth!  If the child blacks out the board and completes every bingo activity on the sheet, they will earn a free book!  Please initial the activities the child has completed.  The program runs from January 2nd– May 31st, 2018.

 

Reading programs are available for all ages from June 11th until August 23rd. Youth complete activities to earn prizes and coupons with the opportunity to be part of prize drawings! Students attending KASD, KCSS and Trinity Lutheran will be recieving their reading logs from school. Reading logs will be available in the youth area May 14th. We have a preschool program (birth-four), school-age (K-5th) and teen (5th-12th). Grand prizes include play tent with four tunnels (preschool), a WowWee MiP robot (school age) and a 3-D pen (teen). 

Adults can also participate in Summer Reading Program too! Starting June 11th, enter what you read to win weekly prizes for gift certificates to local businesses or the grand prize of an Echo.

Please click on the attachment to view our summer events flyer, or visit our online event calendar

Summer Reading Program Events

Runs Tuesday, June 12th to Friday, August 17th 11:30am - 12:00pm

The Summer Feeding Program provides free meals to children who are 18 years old or younger and adults who are more than 18 years old and are enrolled in educational programs for persons with disabilities. For menus, please click on the attachments below. No service July 2-6.

Program courtesy of KASD and the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.

 

Monday, January 29, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, February 26, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, March 26, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, April 23, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, May 21, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, June 25, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, July 23, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, August 20, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, September 24, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, October 22, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, November 12, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, November 26, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm

Join us for critiquing and writing sessions as a group! Meets in the Conference AB.

Wednesday, June 27, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:15pm

Teens, does the idea of raw fish in sushi make you super excited or super grossed out? You can be even more excited and not grossed out at all by joining us for some candy sushi making! All the greatest culinary supplies will be at your disposal, like rice crispie treats, Swedish fish, and even fruit by the foot, so you can make a sugary delicasy. This program will be held in Conference ABC. 

Thursday, January 25, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, April 26, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, May 24, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, June 28, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, July 26, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, August 23, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, September 27, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, October 25, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, November 29, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, December 27, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Join us the fourth Thursday of each month for some adventure on the Library’s own Minecraft server! Work together or on your own creations. For 3rd grade and up.  Registration required. Please note that the library has an expectation that patrons conduct themselves in a civil manner while playing in the game world.  Parents/Guardians are required to stay in the room for the duration of the program.  Meets in Tween/Teen Computer Lab.

To register, stop by the service desk or call 766-6340 (press for service desk).

Registration Dates: 

  • January registration date: 1/11
  • February registration date: 2/8
  • March registration date:3/8
  • April registraiton date: 4/12
  • May registration date: 5/10
Thursday, January 4, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, February 1, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, April 5, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, May 3, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, June 7, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, July 5, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, November 1, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, December 6, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Join us for an hour of coding activities.  Activities may range from coding board games, robotics, Legos and ipads with Osmos.  For grades three and up. Meets in the Conference Room. Class will meet in the Board Room in April.   

Monday, July 9, 2018 - 7:00pm to 10:00pm

Join us for outdoor movies!  Activities for families begin at 7:00p and movies start at sunset. In honor of Peter Rabbit, join us for a petting zoo with Cavanagh Carriages. Bring blankets for the hill or lawn chairs for the parking lot, space courtesy of Stadtmueller and Associates. Outside food and drink are welcome, but Carnival Time will be there for all your popcorn, soda/water and cotton candy needs! Ghost Town Fitness will be providing fun active activities before the movie. Music by Parker Collar of Appleton Rock School. Balloons courtesy of Mikey Air. Face painting courtesy of Girl Scout Troop 2342. Film equipment courtesy of Fun Flix! Sorry, but pets, alcohol, smoking and sidewalk chalk are not welcome at this event. No vendors/sales allowed on Grand KaKalin property during the event without the express permission of the Library. Event sponsored by Kaukauna Kiwanis Club and KATODA. 

Estimated time of sunset: 8:38p

Peter Rabbit; 95 min; PG

 

Thursday, January 11, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, May 10, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, July 12, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, August 9, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, November 8, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, December 13, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Students in grades 5 and up can participate in our new Roblox Club! Please note that the library has an expectation that patrons conduct themselves in a civil and respectful manner while playing in the game world.Those that conduct themselves inappropriately while playing may be asked to leave the program after one warning. Meets in Tween/Teen Computer Lab. To register, stop by the service desk or call 766-6340 (press for service desk).

Registration Dates: 

  • January registration date: 12/28
  • February registration date: 1/25
  • March registration date: 2/22
  • April registraiton date: 3/29
  • May registration date: 4/26
Thursday, January 11, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, May 10, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, July 12, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, August 9, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, November 8, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, December 13, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Come "hack" apart AV equipment, electronics, and appliances to see what's inside! For 4th grade and up. Meets in the Conference Room.

Wednesday, July 18, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:15pm

Not all pizza is created equal. Some just really do taste better than others. Teens, stop in and help us to rank the best pizza in the area. We will be ordering from multiple locations and you will be the judge!

Thursday, July 19, 2018 - 1:00pm to 1:30pm

The NEW Zoo Zoomobile is coming with some animals to show us how they rock! Please be mindful that our animal shows are always very well attended. There will be a repeat of the show at 2:00p and 3:00p for attendees that cannot enter the event due to room capacity. 

We apologize for the inconvenience of having no evening program, however the NEW Zoo Zoomobile policy does not allow for evening programs.

Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, May 17, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, June 21, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, July 19, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, August 16, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, September 20, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, October 18, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, November 15, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, December 20, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Join us the third Thursday of each month for Lego Lab.  Each month we will feature a different building activity.  Each activity will include a brief presentation on the featured construction tied to STEM.  Themes may include: patterns, inventions, bridges, robots, homes, animals and more!  For students in grades K-5. Meets in Conference ABC.

Monday, July 30, 2018 - 7:00pm to 10:00pm

Join us for outdoor movies!  Activities for families begin at 7:00p and movies start at sunset (estimated times below). Dress like a super hero at this event! Bring blankets for the hill or lawn chairs for the parking lot, space courtesy of Stadtmueller and Associates. Outside food and drink are welcome, but Carnival Time will be there for all your popcorn, soda/water and cotton candy needs! Ghost Town Fitness will be providing fun active activities before the movie. Music by Parker Collar of Appleton Rock School. Balloons courtesy of Mikey Air. Face painting courtesy of Girl Scout Troop 2342. Film equipment courtesy of Fun Flix! Sorry, but pets, alcohol, smoking and sidewalk chalk are not welcome at this event. No vendors/sales allowed on Grand KaKalin property during the event without the express permission of the Library. Event sponsored by Kaukauna Kiwanis Club and KATODA. 

Estimated time of sunset: 8:20p

The Lego Batman Movie; PG; 104 minutes

 

Tuesday, July 31, 2018 - 9:00am to 8:00pm

Happy Birthday Harry! In honor of the world of Harry Potter, we will be celebrating here all day! Join us all day for drop-in crafts in the youth area, find the snitch in adult fiction, and quidditch  pitch. Then join us for these special activities in our conference room:

9:30a-10:30a Harry Potter Floating Key Craft (all ages)

11:30a-12:00p Stories from Tales of the Beetle and the Bard (all ages) 

1:00p-2:00p Wand Making Craft (all ages)

3:00p-4:00p Harry Potter Potions Class (school-age and up)

5:00p-5:45p Harry Potter Trivia (Adults)

6:30p-7:15p Care of Magic Animals: Owls (school-age and up)

Tuesday, July 31, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:30am

We will be transfiguring keys into flying keys by decorating them with wings.

Join us for this project in honor of our Harry Potter Day! No registration necessary, just drop in anytime between 9:30a-10:15a to make a project! For all ages.

Tuesday, July 31, 2018 - 11:30am to 12:00pm

Join us for Harry Potter Day at the Library! Kids can enjoy a free lunch courtesy of the Summer Feeding Program and listen as we read Tales from Beetle the Bard. No registration necessary, all ages welcome.

Pages