Teens

Reading programs are available for all ages from June 11th until August 23rd. Youth complete activities to earn prizes and coupons with the opportunity to be part of prize drawings! Students attending KASD, KCSS and Trinity Lutheran will be recieving their reading logs from school. Reading logs will be available in the youth area May 14th. We have a preschool program (birth-four), school-age (K-5th) and teen (5th-12th). Grand prizes include play tent with four tunnels (preschool), a WowWee MiP robot (school age) and a 3-D pen (teen). 

Adults can also participate in Summer Reading Program too! Starting June 11th, enter what you read to win weekly prizes for gift certificates to local businesses or the grand prize of an Echo.

Please click on the attachment to view our summer events flyer, or visit our online event calendar

Summer Reading Program Events

Runs Tuesday, June 12th to Friday, August 17th 11:30am - 12:00pm

The Summer Feeding Program provides free meals to children who are 18 years old or younger and adults who are more than 18 years old and are enrolled in educational programs for persons with disabilities. For menus, please click on the attachments below. No service July 2-6.

Program courtesy of KASD and the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.

 

June Menu

July Menu

August Menu

Grab your bingo card from the Library today and start completing bingo’s across, down or diagonally for prizes– up to five bingo’s worth!  If the child blacks out the board and completes every bingo activity on the sheet, they will earn a free book!  Please initial the activities the child has completed.  The program runs from January 2nd– May 31st, 2018.

 

Monday, January 29, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, February 26, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, March 26, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, April 23, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, May 21, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, June 25, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, July 23, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, August 20, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, September 24, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, October 22, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, November 12, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, November 26, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm

Join us for critiquing and writing sessions as a group! Meets in the Conference AB with novelist extraordinaire Sarah Read guiding the way.

Thursday, January 25, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, April 26, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, May 24, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, June 28, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, July 26, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, August 23, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, September 27, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, October 25, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, November 29, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, December 27, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Join us the fourth Thursday of each month for some adventure on the Library’s own Minecraft server! Work together or on your own creations. For 3rd grade and up.  Registration required. Please note that the library has an expectation that patrons conduct themselves in a civil manner while playing in the game world.  Parents/Guardians are required to stay in the room for the duration of the program.  Meets in Tween/Teen Computer Lab.

To register, stop by the service desk or call 766-6340 (press for service desk).

Registration Dates: 

  • January registration date: 1/11
  • February registration date: 2/8
  • March registration date:3/8
  • April registraiton date: 4/12
  • May registration date: 5/10

*NEW* You can now play from home!  After adding the server information below, you will be able to play Minecraft with the kids here at the library on the Library server if you have Minecraft for Windows 10 or Minecraft Pocket Edition.   

Instructions on how to play from home:

Click the Play button in Minecraft

Click the Servers button

Click add a server and type the following information in this order.

        CactusVillage

        162.244.165.106

         25565

You should then be able to connect to the server.

Wednesday, August 29, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:15pm

Disney fans, this is for you! Bring your family and friends and Disney knowledge to this family trivia session! All ages welcome! The program will be held in Conference Room ABC.

Thursday, August 30, 2018 - 9:00am to 8:00pm

Let's help those in need! Starting anytime in June, donate new school supplies to the Library for those in need. We are specifically looking for new school supplies and backpacks.

We are also looking for donations of new or very gently used clothing 4K-12th grade. New school shoes are in high demand. Undergarments must be new and still in their packaging.

If you are in need, please stop in and take what you need during the event. If you are thirfty and want to swap that day, bring in something to swap! Donations are always greatly appreciated and tax deductible.

Friday, August 31, 2018 - 9:00am to 5:00pm

Let's help those in need! Starting anytime in June, donate new school supplies to the Library for those in need. We are specifically looking for new school supplies and backpacks.

We are also looking for donations of new or very gently used clothing 4K-12th grade. New school shoes are in high demand. Undergarments must be new and still in their packaging.

If you are in need, please stop in and take what you need during the event. If you are thirfty and want to swap that day, bring in something to swap! Donations are always greatly appreciated and tax deductible.

Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:45pm
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:45pm
Thursday, September 20, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:45pm
Thursday, September 27, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:45pm
Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:45pm
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:45pm
Thursday, October 18, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:45pm
Thursday, November 1, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:45pm
Thursday, November 8, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:45pm
Thursday, November 15, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:45pm
Thursday, November 29, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:45pm
Thursday, December 6, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:45pm
Thursday, December 13, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:45pm
Thursday, December 20, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:45pm

Teens (grades 5+) join us for all this fun stuff; 9/6 Slime Making, 9/13 Melt Beads, 9/20 Fortnite, 9/27 Candy Sushi, 10/4 Switch Play, 10/11 Mask Making, 10/18 Fortnite, 11/1 Minute to Win It, 11/8 Shrinky Dinks, 11/15 Fortnite, 11/29 Duct Tape Art, 12/6 Cookie Decorating, 12/13 Make Your Own Wrapping Paper & 12/20 Fortnite. Programs take place in Conference Room ABC and in Teen Area.

Thursday, January 4, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, February 1, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, April 5, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, May 3, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, June 7, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, July 5, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, November 1, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, December 6, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Join us for an hour of coding activities.  Activities may range from coding board games, robotics, Legos and ipads with Osmos.  For grades three and up. Meets in the Conference Room. Class will meet in the Board Room in April.   

Tuesday, September 11, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Join us for a Pressed Flower Workshop! Learn how to properly press flowers and see some of the fun projects you can create when your flowers are fully dried! All supplies provided. No registration necessary! Teens in grades five and up may attend with an adult.  Will be held in conference room AB.

 

Thursday, January 11, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, May 10, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, July 12, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, August 9, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, November 8, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, December 13, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Students in grades 5 and up can participate in our new Roblox Club! Please note that the library has an expectation that patrons conduct themselves in a civil and respectful manner while playing in the game world.Those that conduct themselves inappropriately while playing may be asked to leave the program after one warning. Meets in Tween/Teen Computer Lab. To register, stop by the service desk or call 766-6340 (press for service desk).

Registration Dates: 

  • January registration date: 12/28
  • February registration date: 1/25
  • March registration date: 2/22
  • April registraiton date: 3/29
  • May registration date: 4/26
Thursday, January 11, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, May 10, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, July 12, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, August 9, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, November 8, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, December 13, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Come "hack" apart AV equipment, electronics, and appliances to see what's inside! For 4th grade and up. Meets in the Conference Room.

Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, May 17, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, June 21, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, July 19, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, August 16, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, September 20, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, October 18, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, November 15, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, December 20, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Join us the third Thursday of each month for Lego Lab.  Each month we will feature a different building activity.  Each activity will include a brief presentation on the featured construction tied to STEM.  Themes may include: patterns, inventions, bridges, robots, homes, animals and more!  For students in grades K-5. Meets in Conference ABC.

Friday, September 21, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Friday, September 28, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Friday, October 5, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Friday, October 19, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Friday, October 26, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Friday, November 2, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Friday, November 9, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Friday, November 16, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Friday, November 30, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Friday, December 7, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Friday, December 14, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Friday, December 21, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm

This homeschool art history class is sure to enhance your current arts curriculum. Each week we will journey through time and experience hands on activities that will offer students a chance to put their own spin on historic art pieces. After getting a brief glimpse into each time period of art we will we will recreate famous works of visual art as we are surrounded in the sounds of great classical music masterpieces. This class is best for students first grade and up with parents present.

Registration required and begins 9/4. To register, stop by the service desk or call 766-6340 (press for service desk).Since this class builds upon itself, participants that miss more than three classes may be dropped from the class and a family on the wait list will be invited in.

Class will be held in Conference Room ABC. Please note that there will be no class on 10/12 & 11/23.

Saturday, October 6, 2018 - 9:00am to 10:00am

Join us for our first Costume Swap! Starting at 9:00a, anyone with a ticket can enter the costume swap event! How do you get a ticket? Bring in a costume for the swap starting September 4th for your pre-event entry ticket or you can bring a costime to swap that morning for early entry. At 10:00a, anyone can enter the event to take a costume until supplies run out or until 1:00p. This event is dependent on donations.  Will be held in conference room ABC.

Details:  No wigs, headbands, or makeup, please.  We are looking for clean, gently used costumes for the swap. Each person present is eligible for one costume. 

Saturday, October 6, 2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm

Join us for our first Costume Swap! Starting at 10:00a anyone can take any costume of their choice out of the room, no swapping necessary!  But, if you do donate an old costume that morning before 10:00a or in advance, you will recieve a ticket to enter the event at 9:00a for first choice of swap!  We will begin accpeting donations at our service desks on September 4th. The event will occur until supplies run out or until 1:00p. This event is dependent on donations.  Will be held in conference room ABC.

Details:  No wigs, headbands, or makeup, please.  We are looking for clean, gently used costumes for the swap. Each person present is eligible for one costume.

Pages