Teens

Grab your bingo card from the Library today and start completing bingo’s across, down or diagonally for prizes– up to five bingo’s worth!  If the child blacks out the board and completes every bingo activity on the sheet, they will earn a free book!  Please initial the activities the child has completed.  The program runs from January 2nd– May 31st, 2018.

 

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys has been selected as the 2018 communty read title. Salt to the Sea takes place in 1945 during World War II. The war is drawing to a close in East Prussia and refugees are desperate to make it out. The story is told in alternating points of view, among them, Joana, Emilia, Florian and Alfred, whose paths are forced together on their route to the ship that they hope, will provide them with the freedom they deserve. Readers follow the characters as they struggle to their goal, the Wilhelm Gustloff, which is not the salvation that they had hoped it to be. The Wilhelm Gustloff proves to be the greatest maritime disaster, something that history has forgotten.

Ruta Sepetys will be presenting at four locations around the Fox Valley. The public is encouraged to attend her presentation at Kaukauna High School on Thursday, April 12th at 12:45p and at Appleton North High School that evening at 6:30p. Ruta Sepetys will also be presenting at Appleton Public Library on Friday, April 13th at 10:00a. Thomas A. Lyons Fine Books and The Reader’s Loft will be selling copies of her books at the presentations and Ms. Sepetys will be signing books after. Neenah High School students will also be learning from Ms. Sepetys; however their presentation is for students only and not open to the public. The Fox Cities Reads is a Fox Cities Book Festival community read in partnership with Fox Valley public libraries. For more information on events, please visit the Fox Cities Book Festival website.  

Schools throughout the Kaukauna Area School District will be displaying works of art throughout the building from May 7th-31st. Please stop in to see their wonderful projects!

Monday, January 29, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, February 26, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, March 26, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, April 23, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, May 21, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, June 25, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, July 23, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, August 20, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, September 24, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, October 22, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, November 12, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, November 26, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm

Join us for critiquing and writing sessions as a group! Meets in the Conference AB.

Tuesday, January 16, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, January 30, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, March 6, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, March 13, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, March 20, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, March 27, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, April 17, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, April 24, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, May 1, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, May 8, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, May 15, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, May 22, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, May 29, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm

Join us each Tuesday after school for a craft, gaming, or activity! Program held in the Youth Department or Conference Room.

Thursday, January 25, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, April 26, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, May 24, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, June 28, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, July 26, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, August 23, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, September 27, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, October 25, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, November 29, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, December 27, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Join us the fourth Thursday of each month for some adventure on the Library’s own Minecraft server! Work together or on your own creations. For 3rd grade and up.  Registration required. Please note that the library has an expectation that patrons conduct themselves in a civil manner while playing in the game world.  Parents/Guardians are required to stay in the room for the duration of the program.  Meets in Tween/Teen Computer Lab.

To register, stop by the service desk or call 766-6340 (press for service desk).

Registration Dates: 

  • January registration date: 1/11
  • February registration date: 2/8
  • March registration date:3/8
  • April registraiton date: 4/12
  • May registration date: 5/10
Monday, April 30, 2018 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, May 1, 2018 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Wednesday, May 2, 2018 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Thursday, May 3, 2018 - 9:00am to 8:00pm

Join us for our used book sale to benefit the Friends of the Kaukauna Public Library! Materials range in price from $.25 to $1.

Thursday, January 4, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, February 1, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, April 5, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, May 3, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, June 7, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, July 5, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, November 1, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, December 6, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Join us for an hour of coding activities.  Activities may range from coding board games, robotics, Legos and ipads with Osmos.  For grades three and up. Meets in the Conference Room. Class will meet in the Board Room in April.   

Tuesday, May 8, 2018 - 4:30pm to 6:00pm

A reception celebrating the art projects on display! The display will run from May 7th-May 31st throughout the building.

Thursday, January 11, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, May 10, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, July 12, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, August 9, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, November 8, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, December 13, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Students in grades 5 and up can participate in our new Roblox Club! Please note that the library has an expectation that patrons conduct themselves in a civil and respectful manner while playing in the game world.Those that conduct themselves inappropriately while playing may be asked to leave the program after one warning. Meets in Tween/Teen Computer Lab. To register, stop by the service desk or call 766-6340 (press for service desk).

Registration Dates: 

  • January registration date: 12/28
  • February registration date: 1/25
  • March registration date: 2/22
  • April registraiton date: 3/29
  • May registration date: 4/26
Thursday, January 11, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, May 10, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, July 12, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, August 9, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, November 8, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, December 13, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Come "hack" apart AV equipment, electronics, and appliances to see what's inside! For 4th grade and up. Meets in the Conference Room.

Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, May 17, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, June 21, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, July 19, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, August 16, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, September 20, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, October 18, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, November 15, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, December 20, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Join us the third Thursday of each month for Lego Lab.  Each month we will feature a different building activity.  Each activity will include a brief presentation on the featured construction tied to STEM.  Themes may include: patterns, inventions, bridges, robots, homes, animals and more!  For students in grades K-5. Meets in Conference ABC.

Thursday, May 31, 2018 - 6:30pm to 8:00pm

Wanna create your very own comic book? Think It Ink It will teach you to do just that! From writing to designing to drawing, every major aspect of the comic book process will be explored. You
will choose what panel layouts you want to work with and through some simple thought exercises, you will start to unleash your imagination and create a masterpiece! Bring along items to sketch with.

Carlos Nieto III is of Colombian roots born and raised in Los Angeles. Growing up in the Hispanic area of Silverlake/Echo Park, he was influenced by the mish mash of Central American and South American cultures. His artistic talent led him to a job on the Emmy-winning show “The Simpsons” and “King of the Hill” as a Layout Artist. Carlos also worked as a Visual Consultant for Disney and Universal, creating sketches and final art for set designs, as well as conducting Comic Book making, Anime and Animation drawing workshops at libraries across the country.

Carlos currently works with Children and families at Children’s Hospital in Los Angeles as an Artist-in-Residence, providing youth with an artistic escape from the anxiety and stress of being in a hospital.

Monday, June 11, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Bullet Journaling is a customizable, organization system. It can be your to-do list, sketchbook, notebook, and diary, but most likely, it will be all of the above and we will teach you how to get started.

Basic notebooks will be provided however, if you have preference to the notebook you plan to use, feel free to bring your own. Some participants prefer to use lined, graph or blank notebooks, so if you have a preference, we suggest bringing your own. We will also have pens available however, if you have pens that you prefer to use feel free to bring them along too.

Registration required and begins 6/4. To register, stop by the service desk or call 766-6340 (press for service desk). The program will be held in Conference Room ABC.  

Monday, June 18, 2018 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm

Science educator Mark Janssen (Mr. J.) will create excitement about science with his dynamic, highly motivational show that gets the audience involved in learning about a variety of science topics.  Exploding paint cans, a bed of nails, chemistry “magic” and a frozen banana hammer are just a few of the tricks he has up his sleeve.  Great for audiences of all ages! This show is sponsored through a grant from the Outagamie-Waupaca Library System (OWLS). The program will be held in Conference ABC.

This show repeats at 3:30p & 6:30p.

Monday, June 18, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:30pm

Science educator Mark Janssen (Mr. J.) will create excitement about science with his dynamic, highly motivational show that gets the audience involved in learning about a variety of science topics.  Exploding paint cans, a bed of nails, chemistry “magic” and a frozen banana hammer are just a few of the tricks he has up his sleeve.  Great for audiences of all ages! This show is sponsored through a grant from the Outagamie-Waupaca Library System (OWLS). The program will be held in Conference ABC.

This show repeats at 6:30p.

Pages